Sunday dinner

Well, I would it dinner, as would my family. You might call it lunch, as it was kinda in the middle of the day.
After going to mass at San Giovanni in Laterano, I wanted to get myself a good meal.
I wandered over around Piazza Navona, but coudn’t find anything that looked good for a reasonable price. I was getting more and more frustrated, as I missed breakfast (not to fear, I did buy coffee), when I walked across Ponte Sisto into Trastevere.

Trastevere is a wonderland of food and drink and winding streets. Apparently, long ago, it was the working class section of Roma, which is why there are so many little winding streets and family owned places. However, now it is a bit touristy, but still delicious.

After wandering around for a while longer, I stumbled across this place:
Photobucket

It had a tourist menu for 10 euro, which looked pretty good and was a proper full meal. However, when I sat down, I saw such other wonderful things on the regular menu, that I just gave up the idea of using the fixed menu. I still need to get a fixed menu meal at some point, preferably not a tourist menu either.

Anyway, I ended up getting for my primo piatto* Spaghetti all’Amatriciana.
Photobucket
It was absolutely amazing, and had bacon in the sauce. Bacon makes everything better. I have even heard that bacon chocolate is delicious.

For my secondo, I could not resist Tripa Romana. That is right Roman style tripe.
Photobucket

The tripe took a little getting used to. The texture was fantastic and it really melted in my mouth, but it definitely tasted like tripe, which is a little overpowering, and it was just a big plate of the stuff.
However, as I kept eating it, I liked it more and more, and the strong flavor was well balanced by the wine I got in a little carafe.
Photobucket

All in all, it was an excellent meal, although I am not sure how people eat a proper two course meal every day. It was a lot of food. I would have been good with about two thirds of each plate, but they were so good that I could not resist finishing them. Besides, it would have been both rude and a waste of money.

I now understand why Italians do not eat supper until eight or so. If you eat a meal that big in the middle of the day, there is no way that you are going to want another meal anytime soon.

*A traditional Italian meal consists of a primo piatto, or first plate, which is usually pasta, or sometimes rice or a soup. This is followed by a secondo piatto (you’re quick, that does mean second plate), which is usually meat or fish. That is the backbone of the meal you can add to that: Antipasti, or appetizers, and also cotorni, or sides with your secondo, usually vegetables, but who needs vegetables? Salads fit in there somewhere too.

One response to “Sunday dinner

  1. Thank you for the info. We will be going to Rome in the fall and will be sure to try the restaurant. Thank you for this well written local story and…for the pictures. Now I’m hungry and awaiting my pasta and vino.

Leave a Reply

