Recipe Time!

I figure that whenever I make something new, I should put it up here, since people are always asking me how to cook the way I do. The answer is almost always “take a bunch of tasty stuff and throw it in a pot.” But I guess without basic culinary instinct (thankfully inherited/learned from both parents) that doesn’t mean very much.

So, here it goes.

Sausage with Vino Primitivo.

Photobucket

Ingredients:
One package of sausage
Some bell peppers (well, one or more bell peppers, depending on how much you are making, and how much you like veggies.)
Onions
Garlic
Red wine. I used Vino Primitivo, which is Italy’s version of Zinfandel (really, look it up).
Olive oil (always)
Pecorino Romano or Parmesan cheese.
Pasta of your choice. You could theoretically serve this with bread too. I will let you know how that turns out. I have lots of leftovers and not very much pasta.Photobucket

Spices:
The usual suspects.
Salt
Pepper
Origano
Peperoncino.

You can change this however you want, but this is just what I have lately, so it is what I use.

Directions:
First, put on a pot of water with olive oil and salt for cooking your pasta.

Chop your garlic and onions. You want the onions to match generally the shape of your pasta. Since I made linguine, I sliced my onions instead of dicing them.
Photobucket

Next, heat up some oil in a frying pan, and toast your spices. As I have said before this releases the flavors better.
Photobucket

After a little while, add your garlic, and then your onions.
Photobucket

While those start to cook, prepare your sausages. I removed the casings of these sausages, because they were very soft, and I had no idea whether the casing was edible. You generally want nice, bite-sized pieces.
Photobucket

Add that in with your onions and garlic, and brown over a medium-high heat.
Photobucket

Open your wine, and pour yourself a small glass.
Photobucket

Then add some wine to your pan. This will become your sauce.
Photobucket

Turn down the heat and let it simmer. Cover.

Chop your bell pepper to match your pasta (long skinny cuts with long skinny pasta, etc.)
Photobucket
I could have cut these a little thinner, but it is not really that important. It just looks a lot better if they match.

Add these to your pan and salt. Always put a little salt on your vegetables, or they will get a bit bitter when you cook them.
Photobucket

Cook your pasta at some point

When everything is cooked to your satisfaction in the pan, remove the lid and turn up the heat a little to reduce the sauce. A great way to thicken the sauce, which I generally do, although not this time, is to add butter when it comes off the heat. It works great and tastes fantastic.
Photobucket

Serve over pasta with grated cheese.
Photobucket

***
For breakfast I had, as usual, caffe and a cornetto. Well, I know this isn’t really called a cornetto, but I have no clue what it is really called, and they call them all cornetti for pricing’s sake.
Photobucket

I also had a pack of M&Ms, a rather standard snack, and it occurred to me how awful the quality control is at the M&M factory.
Photobucket
How difficult can it be to put the same number of each color in my bag?

Leave a Reply

