Laurienzo’s

Laurienzo’s Brick Oven Cafe in Mount Airy, MD

I had lunch here yesterday, and I would definitely recommend it. It is not a cheap restaurant, but it is also not expensive ($13+/- for pasta and $12 for 12 inch pizza).

The inside was a little dark for my taste, but they also have tables outside, which would probably be better, but on to the food.

We started off with a garden salad, which is enough for a full meal. They were more than happy to provide extra plates for sharing.

Here was my portion of the salad.
Photobucket

My mother and grandmother split a pizza, which I also got a bit of.
Photobucket

The crust was delicious, as was the sauce. I have gotten used to fresh mozzarella on pizza, so this cheese was a little disappointing to me, but it was also good. Over all, it was a very good homestyle pizza.

My meal was a lunch portion (cheaper at $8) cavatappi, which is pasta with chicken, onion, mushroom, tomato and garlic oil.
Photobucket
Even having just gotten back from Italy, this was delicious, especially the garlic oil sauce.

To me, Laurienzo’s exemplifies the best side of Italian cooking: simple, honest dishes, made with fresh, good ingredients. I highly recommend stopping by for a meal.

One response to “Laurienzo’s

  1. The food looks delicious, especially the salad. Thanks for the restaurant review.

Leave a Reply

